Patan Durbar Square is situated in the center of the Lalitpur District of Nepal. It is enlisted in UNESCO WORLD HERITAGE SITES. This is the sight to get astonished and hypnotic views of architecture, grandness, culture, and proud history. The main attractions of this region are temples, palaces, residential houses, and many other structures. Likewise Kathmandu and Bhaktapur Durbar Square this Patan Durbar Square is also a marvel of Newari architecture. The square was heavily damaged by the earthquake of Nepal in 2015 and was restored in 2018.


The history of Patan Durbar Square is not properly known but the Malla Dynasty kings from Lalitpur were said to be the main source for the establishing many changes in the square. Most of the architectural properties of the durbar square is constructed during the reign of King Siddhi Narshing Malla in the 1600s. Along with the son of Siddhi Narshing Malla (Srinivasa Sukriti), other notable Malla kings also improved the square are Purandarasimha, Sivasimha Malla, and Yog Narendra Malla.

 The attraction of Patan Durbar Square

Patan is considered one of the oldest Buddhist cities in the world. It is the pilgrimage destination for both Hinduism followers and Buddhists. Patan Durbar Square consists of 1136 bahals or courtyards and 55 important temples.

  1. Krishna Mandir:

    Krishna Mandir is the most important temple in the entire Patan Durbar square. This durbar has the three-storied structure which was built in Granthakuta style (local variety of Shikhara). The stone carvings along the beam on the first two floors are most noticeable. The pillar from the both floor narrates the major religious battle of hindu religion. The carving of first floor pillar narrates the events of Mahabahrata, while as the carvings of the second floor pillar has the visual carvings from Ramayana.

    The actual date of establishment of Krishna Mandir is 1667 AD by Malla king Siddhi Narshing Malla. Legend tell us that, one night the king saw lord Krishna along with his consort Radha in front of the royal palace so, king Siddhi Narshing Malla ordered to built the temple at the same spot. Just above the third floor there are 21 golden pinnacles in the temple. The first floor holds the main shrines of lord Krishna, Radha, and Rukamni at every side. Respectively, the second floor and third floor are dedicated to Lord Shiva and Lokeshwor (Avalokiteshvara).

  2. Bimsen Temple:

    Srinivas Malla built Bhimsen temple in 1680. The temple is popularly known for the interconnecting golden windows. This temple is dedicated to the Ksatriya fighter of Mahabharat. Bhimsen also considered as the god of business in the Newari culture. Inside Bhimsen temple tourist are restricted to enter.

  3. Taleju Bhawani Temple:

    Siddhinarshing Malla has built Taleju Bhawani temple in 1640. Between 1640 to 1667 the temple was burned by the fire and it was again restored by Srinivas Malla in 1667. The personal deity of         Malla king was Taleju Bhawani. The temple is designed in 5 storeys with triple roofs. As per the hints of Gopala Kings of 14th century Taleju temple was built by Pradhanas before Mallas.

Visiting Patan Durbar Square

Patan Durbar Square is 6.1km far from Tribhuvan International Airport. It takes about 15-20 min to Durbar square by drive. It opens from 10:00 am to 04:30 pm for pilgrims and visitors. The durbar square entry tickets are as per the table below.

NationalityEntrance Fees in NPR.
SAARC Citizen150
Note: Children below 10 years are free to enter form any country.